smskrot.blogg.se

Selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi
Selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi





selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi

selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi

That’s my long story, thanks for being patient. That got rid of the gurgle but it also changed what I loved about how the horn sounded so I took out the cork and just lived with the gurgle.) It was a drag but the rest of the horn was incredible so….whatever…… (Just so you know, the repairman also tried putting some cork in the bow of the sax.

selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi

I asked the repairman and he said he noticed it also but there was no leaks anywhere on the horn. I was excited when I went to pick it up! I played it and guess what? It still had the gurgle. I took it to my repairman who went over it with a fine tooth comb. I didn’t think it was any big deal as I assumed it had a leak which is not uncommon with new horns unfortunately.īoston Sax Shop Heritage Alto Saxophone Neck The one bad thing I noticed about it was that it had a gurgle in the low notes of the horn around low B and C. I whipped out my credit card and bought it that same day. The Reference 54 alto sax was the first alto I tried where I was immediately in love. Selmers, Yamahas, Yanis, etc…….I tried a ton. I had been looking for an alto sax for like 5 years but every one I tried just seemed mediocre to me. When I tried it in the store, I fell in love. You see, my Selmer Reference 54 alto saxophone is one of the early models that came with a first generation neck. I have decided to make an exception though. Ever since then, I have pretty much stayed away from other necks and horns because I know it would just confuse me and muddy the saxophone waters more for me. It was neither good nor bad but just different and it threw me for a loop. It played great and I thought I could use it instead of my Selmer SBA tenor but I quickly found out that every mouthpiece I owned sounded and responded very different on the new horn. I learned that years ago when I bought a RS Berkeley tenor saxophone. The reality is that changing the saxophone neck or the saxophone itself can dramatically change the sound and response of any mouthpiece. So much of my time is already consumed with trying so many different saxophone mouthpieces that adding necks and saxophones to the mix is just too overwhelming for me. Despite the fact that chosing a horn is based on preference, what are some comments on the Mark VI alto saxophone and the new Selmer Reference 54 alto saxophones.I have to admit, I usually stay away from anything to do with trying saxophone necks or different brands of saxophones. I liked the sound of both the horns but I am wondering which horn will be the best choice. But, the Reference 54 had a more locked on pitch.

selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi

The sound was alot more open and screamed more on the Mark VI. The 124,xxx Mark VI was priced at 6500, however. were both priced around the same at 5200 Canadian dollars. AND.2 Golden Lacquered Reference 54 hornsOf these choices, I preferred the 124,xxx and the 200,xxx Mark VI alto saxophones and the Reference 54 alto saxophone.

#Selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi series

(Not as good)1 Black Lacquer Super Action 80 Series II 1 Normal Lacquer Super Action 80 Series II 2 Normal Lacquer Super Action 80 Series III 1 unlacquered Yamaha Custom Z 1 Normal Lacquer Yani.not sure of the details on this one. When I was there, I tried:5 Mark Vis: 124,xxx 200,xxx, 240,xxx, and 2 later models with the High F# key. Hi, I recently traveled to Montreal and was able to visit a few music stores in the area.







Selmer reference 54 alto vs mark vi